Out of the Storm by Jody Hedlund

2015/01/img_8007.png
I received an email from Bethany House with a link for the free e-book, Out of the Storm: A Novella by Jody Hedlund, but it is also available on Amazon for free here. I read this short book in one morning and loved it. I am thrilled that I already have Love Unexpected, the first full book in Hedlund’s Beacons of Hope series, and I can’t wait to start reading it.

Out of the Storm is set in an isolated area on the shores of Lake Huron in Michigan in 1854. Isabelle Thornton lives in a small cottage with her father who is the lighthouse keeper. A deadly shipwreck spares one man’s life, and Isabelle learns to enjoy her life.

I read some reviews of this book online, and some reviewers thought there was too much passion for Christian fiction. Having read many other romance novels, I was only slightly surprised by the few moments of passion in Out of the Storm and not because I felt kissing was out of place in a Christian book but only because it seemed a little forward for the time period. I enjoy a good romance and love chemistry between the main characters. It makes the story more believable because real people face temptations and give in sometimes.

One thought on “Out of the Storm by Jody Hedlund

  1. Pingback: Love Unexpected by Jody Hedlund | Mother-Daughter Reads

Leave a Reply

