My First Giveaway–Willie’s Redneck Time Machine by John Luke Robertson

IMG_6789.PNG
Willie’s Redneck Time Machine is an interactive adventure book written for children and teenagers, but I enjoyed reading it too. My eight year old son was very excited to receive this book and has been reading it every day since we got it. He has chosen four different adventures so far and really gets into them. He wrote a reading response for school on this book and said, “It was so silly, it made me dizzy.” I’m not sure exactly what that means, but he liked it. My son is reading above his grade level, so this book is probably written for middle school aged children. I asked him if there were any words he didn’t know, and he said “mullet”, but he figured out that it was a hairstyle based on the context clues.

Willie’s Redneck Time Machine is the first book in John Luke Robertson’s series of interactive adventures. The others are Phil & the Ghost of Camp Ch-Yo-Ca, Si in Space, and Jase & the Deadliest Hunt. In each book, the reader gets to be one of the Duck Commander crew and make decisions every few pages that lead to the next part of your adventure. It took me about thirty minutes to complete an adventure, so this would make an excellent read for someone who has a shorter attention span, doesn’t want to get into a thick book, or just wants to be entertained for a little while.

I thought the adventure I chose was a little silly, but I can see how boys would love it. There were several references to how Willie was raised that reinforce what we are trying to teach our children–show respect for your elders, do not hit out of anger, stand up for what you believe in, fight for your family, show compassion for others, etc. I love how they incorporated respect and manners in this humorous adventure.

Tyndale House Publishers has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book and a copy for me to give away, so one lucky reader will receive this book for free! You may enter the contest in one of three ways: “like” this post, comment on this post, or sign up to follow this blog. I will draw a name on Wednesday, September 24th at 8:00 am and announce the winner that day, so get your name in the drawing before 8:00 am Wednesday. Thank you for participating!

Leave a Reply

