Skull Creek Stakeout by Eddie Jones (guest post by my son)

I started this blog for my mother and I to share what we think about the books we are reading, but my mom has yet to write her first post.  My eight year old son has become quite an avid reader and wanted to know when he could write a “book report” on my blog.  He’s so cute and maybe a little nerdy like his mama.  Here is a photo of him with the book he finished reading last night.

Image

This is the second book in the Caden Chronicles series, which was written with middle school boys in mind.  My son is reading above his grade level, and he thoroughly enjoyed both books and can’t wait to get the next one.  There have been a few nights where he has gotten in trouble for reading past his bedtime.  He couldn’t believe how late it was because he was so engrossed in the book.  He is so much like me when it comes to reading.  I may have to change the name of this blog if he’s going to continue to write reviews, especially if my mom doesn’t get on board pretty soon.  I know she has been reading.  I think she’s just shy.  My son obviously has no lack of self-confidence!

Here is his “book report”:

What I like:  I like how Nick Caden follows people around and kind of interviews them.  He is on a vampire case in Transylvania, North Carolina.  The book is very suspenseful.  He has a crush on a girl Meg.

About the book:  In Skull Creek Stakeout, a vampire’s running loose, and 14 year old Nick Caden’s on the case.  Nick has to find out who killed Mr. Forester and save Meg.  Don’t forget to read book one Dead Man’s Hand.

I have read several pages over his shoulder, and the book seems well written and interesting.  It is a mystery with an amateur detective who often gets himself in trouble with his sleuthing.  If you have a boy/young man that likes to read (or one that needs to read more), this book would keep him entertained.

Update: I should have mentioned that my son purchased this book at our church bookstore, and it is Christian juvenile fiction, so the ghost and vampire theories are interesting but disproved in the end.

3 thoughts on “Skull Creek Stakeout by Eddie Jones (guest post by my son)

  1. My biggest reason for not posting is I don’t remember how or my code to get on. 😦

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  2. I’m glad your son is taking part. I have 8 children ages 10-32, two birth, one step, five adopted, three of whom are from Haiti. All of them will read if handed the right book, but the youngest three 15, 10 and 10 read a lot. I write girl’s and preteen devos included Promises for God’s Princesses, The One Year Book of Bible Trivia for Kids and The One Year Devotions for Girls Starring Women of the Bible.

    • Thanks for reading and commenting on my blog! I reviewed Promises for God’s Princesses about 18 months ago. Our daughter is old enough now to read it on her own.

Leave a Reply

