Misery Loves Company by Rene Gutteridge

20130725-124544.jpg
I requested this book from Tyndale House Publishers, but after I received it, I was a little anxious about reading it. I don’t like books or movies that scare me. I love mystery and suspense, but horror and torture just aren’t for me. When I read the back cover, the words “terrifying” and “terror” jumped out at me, so I put off reading it for a week or so. When I finally started reading Misery Loves Company, I was pleasantly surprised. This book packs plenty of mystery and suspense with just a touch of romance and nothing to yield nightmares.

Jules Belleno writes book reviews on her blog and disappears after writing a negative review, in which she commented, “Don’t tell me it’s terrifying. Terrify me.” Her father and a local police officer begin unravelling the mystery surrounding Jules’ disappearance and the death of her husband, who died while on duty as a police officer, but things are not always what they seem to be to the characters or to the reader. This book has unexpected twists and turns and offers some insight into the world of writing fiction novels.

I enjoyed reading this book and would recommend this book to friends and family. Once again, I have found a new author that I like by reviewing a book.

Leave a Reply

